My Reason for Choosing Journalism

After reading the blog What Led You to PR or Journalism?’ it made me reflect on my life. I guess the main way to continue their blog is by me telling my own story.

Well, where to begin? I did not always want to be a journalist, as the matter of fact, back in high school that was the last thing on my mind. I guess it all started with 9/11 and the attacks of the WTC. I was 14 going on 15 when the planes hit the towers. About a week or so later, I was at the recruiting station trying to join the military.

I finally got into the military July 2004 and spent two years in Washington State before we were deployed to Iraq. One of the sergeants in my OIF6-7team would spend maybe an hour a day typing on the computer, but no one really asked. Out of curiosity, I asked him what he has been doing on the computer, and he explained that he was writing our story the way it was meant to be written.

After that deployment, I said to myself, “why can’t I do that?” I enrolled in and online school right away, immediately found work, but it all happened too fast. Before I knew it, I was stuck between a rock and a hard place. I barely had income to sustain myself, barely living paycheck to paycheck.

I dropped the school and just kept working. After a few months, I was called back in to active duty. I spent the year writing in a journal about everything that was going on around me, and I gave it to my girlfriend at the time, but things grew sour between us so I never got it back.

After learning from my mistakes, I knew what I had to do right away and I did it.

Two years after my return, I:

  • Moved out on my own;
  • Bought myself a car;
  • I got myself a job and,
  • I received my Associates Degree.

Ever since then, I have been working very hard to get to my Bachelor’s Degree from Seton Hall and that is where I am at right now. That is my story and thanks for reading.

About mmdiaz86
Hello everyone, My name is Miguel Diaz and I am a transfer junior in Seton Hall University. I am studying Journalism and will hopefully be graduating by May 2014. My goal is to hopefully write for Men's Health Magazine, but I would also like to write for the Army Times for a few years first. The following blog posts are all part of my class assignments, and I hope you enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

